Ode to Venice

Your brick walls
encompass me
your water protects me
your bridges connect me
barred wrought iron windows
keep me trapped inside your walls.
Grey is the color of your skin
erosion all over your concrete
tiny rectangles shining the light.
Scent of garlic, basil, rosemary
invading my senses.
Words like amore, amici, bella,
ringing my ears
gondolas gliding with my dreams
floating around your paths.
At times, it is dark here
between the two walls
a white bridge leading me
to my gelatos, cannolis, bacis.
You are ever so strong
timeless
magical in your man-made creation
waterways of loneliness
picture-taking wonders,
snapshots of your ever-lasting beauty
images of you around the world.
No picture can capture
what my eye beholds before me.
Churches are magnets
attracting followers
like no person can or ever will.
You have been fought over
like Helen
been destroyed like Marilyn
but you are the constant survivor

a rebel
your own concrete soul
people adore you
protect you.

You are a city
where painters paint
and writers write
discover their muse
where music is created
opera renowned.

The more I look at you
the more I see
the more mysterious you remain.

21 comments

  1. Romantic Dominant · December 9, 2013

    Enjoyed.

    • Chrissy · December 9, 2013

      Thank you for reading♥️

  2. Marie Hunter Atwood · December 9, 2013

    Your descriptions make me want to see it. I’ve always thought of Venice as a romantic place. Does it seem that way to you?

    • Chrissy · December 9, 2013

      Yes, it is beyond words. You have to visit Venice to understand its unique beauty. Xo

  3. Mike · December 9, 2013

    You’ve birthed imagery in this magnificent homage of elegant execution Chrissy.

  4. kindredspirit23 · December 9, 2013

    Beautiful! Also, check out my post on Monday as you have been nominated for an award!
    Scott

    • Chrissy · December 9, 2013

      Thank you. I will check it out tomorrow. You are much too kind. Have a good one.

  5. cflemish · December 9, 2013

    Venice is amazing, a never-ending maze of inspiration. Thanks for the follow. look forward to your posts.
    Chris
    Cheers

    • Chrissy · December 9, 2013

      Thanks. Likewise.

    • Chrissy · December 9, 2013

      Thanks for the comment. It certainly is an inspiration.
      Cheers,
      Chrissy

      • cflemish · December 9, 2013

        It is. I’ve been there a few times now. Every corner you take there is something new. It’s as if you are on a movie set.

      • Chrissy · December 9, 2013

        I’ve only been there once and I can never forget it.

      • cflemish · December 9, 2013

        Well may you have many returns. Have you ever been to Rome?

      • Chrissy · December 9, 2013

        Yes, spent 10 days in Italy, that was the trip!

      • cflemish · December 9, 2013

        Italy is amazing. When I lived in Europe I would travel there every summer. One day I want to go to Sienna when they have the Palio. The food, the history, the weather. But there are so many places I still want to see. Have a great weekend :)

      • Chrissy · December 9, 2013

        Thanks you Too. My heritage is European, so I go often (Greece).
        Have a great weekend. Later

      • cflemish · December 9, 2013

        That’s cool. I’m Belgian. So I go every year to my parents. Greece is amazing too. Love the food mmmm. Only been to Creta. Nice to meet you. Stay in touch :)

      • Chrissy · December 9, 2013

        Defifnitely:)

  6. Carneika W · December 9, 2013

    This has made me want to visit Venice even more than I already did :)

    • Chrissy · December 9, 2013

      Thank you! It is the most magical place on earth. You should visit!!

  7. Chrissy · December 9, 2013

    Thank you so much. I look at a picture and the memories flood in. Magical city…

What do you think?

